Day 18. My brain is a white screen #SOL2020 Challenge #SOLSC

slice-of-life_individual

Today, March 18th, 2020, I’m participating in Two Writing Teachers’ Slice of Life Story Challenge.

 

 

I remember when I was a girl I taught myself to think of a white screen when I have trouble to fall asleep. For me counting sheep was very distracting. They were always rebellious sheep that didn’t jump in an orderly manner. The white screen worked for me many times if I concentrated really hard and stick with the concept of a white screen. But often, a bubble gum appeared in one corner or in the middle of the screen; sometimes was a spot of ink, or a red dot, that started to grow and grow and change shapes and become something else. I stayed awake for hours wrestling in my sleep.

Today my brain is something else, filled with images that I can’t shake it out. They have frozen my creativity,  making me feel mono-thematic, or guilty or superfluous or both if I write light fiction or about the wonderful bike ride I did today. I feel that my brain is filled with dark images and ideas, that as soon as I open the computer, turn into a white screen.

3 thoughts on “Day 18. My brain is a white screen #SOL2020 Challenge #SOLSC

  1. “For me counting sheep was very distracting. They were always rebellious sheep that didn’t jump in an orderly manner.” I completely agree. This has so happened to me. They can be as distracting as they’d be entertaining for me. I would have never thought about using a white screen to help work me to sleep.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment